About Us | Family Photos | Family Details | Contact Family

Featured Family: Travis and Kimberly

Describe your childhood:
Kim: My mom and dad have been married over 45 years and are still involved in my life. As I child, I spent a lot of time with my mom and brothers, as my dad was often at work. We went on a lot of camping trips and family trips to see both sets of grandparents or vacations. I played sports and went to Catholic school and my family was involved with the Catholic church. I has a brother who is 3 years older and a younger brother who is 10 years younger than I am. I spent a lot of time helping raise my younger brother and we remain very close. I remember my childhood being happy and energetic. Travis: I remember my childhood was fun and I was around caregivers that provided me love. I was raised by my mother and she was an active parent, involving me with lots of sports and camping trips. I had many role models, family, and a Big Brothers of America to look up to, which provided me with good core values and ethics. I have a brother who is 3 years older, although he moved to my fatherís house in Colorado when I was 10. I was raised in a healthy and supportive environment.

Tell us about your home?
We like pets and caring for them, so we have a couple of aquariums and terrariums. Our home is welcoming and we enjoy entertaining, cooking, or BBQing outside. The area we live in very expensive and we can't afford to buy a house yet. It is our goal to have our own home and a lager place, but for now, we have everything we need with two bedrooms and two baths. We also live three miles from the beach and near parks and hiking areas

When you have a 3-day weekend, what do you like to do?
We have a 3-day weekend every weekend and spend it traveling to the desert, or to see family down south, or just stay home and enjoy our local beaches and hiking areas. We are very active with friends and often do BBQs or overnight getaways with them. We have a couple of time shares and like to do 1-2 night getaways as often as possible.

Do you have pets? If so tell us about them?
We have 4 cats, who give us a lot of laughs and friendship. We also have a large fish tank and a smaller one. Kim has a couple of geckos and tree frogs too. We've always had pets and fish or frogs or other reptiles since we met, but we both had those passions as kids and as adults.

What do you hope to teach your children?
We believe that a parentís role is to give a child a foundation they can build on. Teaching a child about having strong personal values, based on ethics and morals, builds character. This will allow a lifetime of health and happiness.

Describe your neighborhood?
We live near a big community park, which has a playground and recreational center, basketball courts and softball fields. We have a solid school district and all the schools are within walking distance. Right up the street are two city ponds and a nature preserve. We also live three miles from the beach and our hiking area.

What will you tell your child about their birthmother?
We're not sure how to answer this question right now because each situation will be different. Maybe, working with the birth mother, we can come up with a safe and supportive plan. Being honest is the key. We would tell her that we will love her child as our own and provide them with a healthy and fun life.

It's Daddy's day - what activity do you want to share with your child?
I love being active, playing sports, and going on adventures. I play a lot of sports but that does not mean our child will want to do the same. I plan on seeing what interests the child has and supporting those interests on our day. I would hope to go fishing, play in the waves, or go on a hike. Something outdoors.

What kind of education are you hoping to provide for your child - Private or Public?
For the first few years we will probably use both private and public schools. Once they are in elementary school, they will likely go to a public school. We have a good school district, which flows into many local colleges, which is the start we would want to provide.

How did you come to the decision of adoption?
We tried to conceive a child for over 10 years, then we tried artificial insemination and then in vetero. Each time, there were periods in between to allow us to reflect. Each time, we still felt the exact same way about wanting a child. We did consider foster care, which led us to adoption.

What faith will you raise your child?
We will raise our child Christian and support whatever faith they choose when they are old enough to make their own choice.

What kind of a relationship do you hope to build with your birthmom through her pregnancy?
We believe itís going to be up to the birthmother and each situation is different. We have no issues with building a relationship, providing emotional reassurance, and building trust between us.

How did you meet?
We met while I, Travis, was in college and working security at a James Brown concert. I was doing stage security and she was a concert goer. When we caught eyes, we just starred at each other. After making an initial contact, we knew something different had occurred. Kim came back to another concert a couple of weeks later and we exchanged information. After a couple of dates, we were inseparable. We fell in love that day and have been together every day ever since.

What was your relationship with your parents like?
Kim: My parents and I had a good relationship and I remember having a lot of fun as a child and young adult. My father worked a lot so my mother was very involved and supportive of me and my siblings. My grandparents also lived close so I spent a lot of time being around them. I am very close with my mother to this day and we talk every day. Travis: I was raised by a single mother who worked very hard to provide for me. We have always been close and even worked together as adults. I also donated a kidney to her to a few years ago. My father was a decent person and I spent time with him a couple of times a year growing up. We became closer as I moved into adulthood. I was very close with my Big Brother of America, who became very important to me as a child and who I have had a relationship with since I was a child.

What attracted you to each other?
Kim is the most beautiful person I have ever seen, but what attracted me most is that she is funny, nice, and tough!! Travis is handsome, funny, and nice. I liked that he was working with Special Needs children when we met.

Please describe your personalities:
Kim: I am easy going and very mellow and even tempered. I don't get too excited or have low days. I am funny and active, have a lot of energy and a big heart. Travis: I have a big personality and high energy. I like to be around people and can get along with anyone. I'm more excitable than Kim and will show my feelings. We're both extroverts but I'm more of the talker than my wife. After college, we moved back to the city where I was raised and I am still very involved with a lot of childhood and high school friends.

What are your hobbies?
Kim: I love my pets and caring for them. I also love to cook. I cook 5 or 6 days a week and always try to make something healthy and delicious. I go to the gym but would rather walk at the park, where I can feed the squirrels and talk to the geese. I also love music and finding new bands and music styles. We like going on hikes and being in nature or just BBQing with friends. Going on local hikes together is always fun and a nice time as well as going to the gym, weekend getaways, the beach or going to a nice dinner. Travis: I like going for jogs at the park and listening to music whenever I can. I also have been training Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and am working on my black belt. I train 3 or 4 days a week in the mornings before going to work. I love sports and especially watching American football. Going for a swim in the ocean and playing in the waves, is always great too.

How will a child enrich your life?
We believe a child would give us something we both are missing, in terms of a fulfilled life. We have love, family, friends, and independence, but there is a part of us that is not complete. We welcome the change that would occur with our lifestyle and have been wanting to extend our family for years and have tried hard to do so. A child would enrich our lives because we have everything needed to raise a child, except for a child. Having a child would fill that void we have, as individuals and as a couple, and allow us to love someone as our own.

Why did you each choose the career path you decided on?
Kim: I was a Registered Dental Assistant and enjoyed my job. However, after starting our own small business, she no longer works in the dental industry. Her license is still current if she ever needs to go back to working as a RDA. We chose to work for ourselves to have more autonomy and more independence. Travis: I have always been an entrepreneur of some sorts. As for a career, I am a Mental Health Nurse with about 16 years of experience in the field, but I'm not working in that industry now. I left that job to open a small business. We currently own a retail shop, which has been doing well since 2013.





Call us at 1-800-483-6650 right now
to speak with an Adoption Advisor or fill out
the birthmother contact form.

An advisor will gladly explain the adoption
process and your options.

Your phone call or email does not obligate you in any way.



Request Your Free Adoption Information Kit Here!

To help you learn more about your
options, we will send you our
Adoption Information Kit. There is no
obligation and you will receive...

  • Adoption Brochure
  • A DVD Presentation
  • An Adoption Booklet
  • And more...


Home | FREE Adoption Info | Birthmother Housing | Browse Adoptive Families Ready to Adopt | Is Adoption For You?
Frequently Asked Questions! | Support | Contact Us