About Us | Family Photos | Family Details | Contact Family

Featured Family: Terry and Alecia

Describe your childhood:
Alecia: I was partially raised by a "grandmother" type figure with lots of other kids around. I eventually lived with my mother full time as a teenager. It was a little volatile through my teen years as I did not have my father in my life. I moved out at 18 and then my mother and I became a lot closer and had a really great bond until her death when I was 28. Terry: I had a wonderful childhood. I grew up with many family members who helped build a loving, nurturing environment for me. Much exposure to the outdoors.

Tell us about your home?
We have a very large 1 bedroom apartment. We have a really nice balcony as outdoor space that looks on to the lake across the street with a lot of beautiful trees.

When you have a 3-day weekend, what do you like to do?
Hiking, beach trips, camping, spending time with friends and family.

Do you have pets? If so tell us about them?
We have an English Bulldog named Buttercup and she is 6 years old.

What do you hope to teach your children?
We will teach the same values that were instilled in Terry growing up - kindness, respect for themselves and others. We will teach them to be their best selves, and to learn about God, honesty and nature.

Describe your neighborhood?
We live right across the street from a beautiful park with a lake, 2 playgrounds and a train ride. We live in a quaint peaceful neighborhood.

What will you tell your child about their birthmother?
We will be honest and gear the conversation so the child feels/knows "their" story (how they came to us through their mother). We would let them know how much we wanted them and then explain the details about our journey to find them and bring them home. We will tell them about their birth mother's courage and strength.

It's Daddy's day - what activity do you want to share with your child?
Exploring/playing in the park, sports of some kind, doing art together, finding books of interest, nature hike.

What kind of education are you hoping to provide for your child - Private or Public?
We would start with public and as age/grade progresses be open to private.

How did you come to the decision of adoption?
With three failed pregnancies, and about a year-and-a-half under the care of a specialist, we were getting very discouraged and knew that adoption would ultimately be our destiny.

What faith will you raise your child?
Lutheran/Christian

What kind of a relationship do you hope to build with your birthmom through her pregnancy?
A very trusting one. We are an open book to the birth mother and hope she will feel comfortable with us to do the same. We hope to be true partners as I'm sure we all want the same thing for the child.

How did you meet?
Alecia was an aide at a school ( autism center ) where Terry taught and we started dating about 5 months after we met and it has been 17 years that we have known each other.

What was your relationship with your parents like?
Alecia: I have never met my biological father and my relationship with my mother was volatile until I was older. I have vowed to myself to create a healthier and always loving relationship with our child. Terry: I did and still have a wonderful relationship with my parents. They instilled many values and traits that have helped guide me. I consider my parents a small group of best friends that I have.

What attracted you to each other?
We believe that we have similar personalities and love of nature and the outdoors also drew us together.

Please describe your personalities:
Alecia: I am a somewhat type A, I have a list in my head when I wake up and need to get things done and organized before I feel complete. I am caring and nurturing, I have been known to be a little stubborn. Terry: Easy going yet determined, funny and caring.

What are your hobbies?
Alecia: Hiking, camping,Yoga, reading, taking walks on the beach Terry: Hiking, camping, art, playing/watching sports, reading, organizing, taking drives to the beach.

When you close your eyes and see yourself holding your precious baby in your arms what are your thoughts regarding the birthmother?
How incredibly unselfish and wonderful she is to allow me this precious gift, I will be eternally grateful.

How will a child enrich your life?
By making our ordinary everyday life and activities sweeter and more meaningful. Giving us purpose to enrich wholly, a human being we can protect, guide, teach and love.

Why did you each choose the career path you decided on?
Alecia: My career path kind of chose me. I fell into office work starting out as a receptionist and then moving my way up. If I were to go back to school or choose another field it would be nursing or EMT. Terry: I am a teacher. I have enjoyed working with and teaching children for 17 years. I chose this path to stay young, and change, and enrich lives. I want to be a teacher that my students look back on and smile.





Call us at 1-800-483-6650 right now
to speak with an Adoption Advisor or fill out
the birthmother contact form.

An advisor will gladly explain the adoption
process and your options.

Your phone call or email does not obligate you in any way.



Request Your Free Adoption Information Kit Here!

To help you learn more about your
options, we will send you our
Adoption Information Kit. There is no
obligation and you will receive...

  • Adoption Brochure
  • A DVD Presentation
  • An Adoption Booklet
  • And more...


Home | FREE Adoption Info | Birthmother Housing | Browse Adoptive Families Ready to Adopt | Is Adoption For You?
Frequently Asked Questions! | Support | Contact Us